Motorcycle Insurance State Requirements

17th Sep 2012

All but three states―Florida, Montana, Washington―require liability insurance for motorcycles. There are no compromises with insurance mandates. Either carry motorcycle insurance protection or risk the consequences of the law.

To comply you must meet the minimum required insurance coverage amounts for your state. This is not to say, however, that you're limited to these amounts. You always have the option to carry additional motorcycle coverage.
State-by-State Motorcycle Insurance Requirements

Each state maintains its own motorcycle insurance rules. Those that do mandate insurance require the following minimum amounts of liability coverage:

Alabama: 50/100/25
Alaska: 20/50/25
Arizona: 15/30/10
Arkansas: 25/50/25
California: 15/30/5
Colorado: 25/50/15
Connecticut: 20/40/10
Delaware: 15/30/10
Florida: Not required
Georgia: 25/50/25
Hawaii: 20/40/10
Idaho: 25/50/15
Illinois: 20/40/15
Indiana: 25/50/10
Iowa: 20/40/15
Kansas: 25/50/10
Kentucky: 25/50/10 or $60,000 single limit
Louisiana: 10/20/10
Maine: 50/100/25 & $1,000 per person for medical payments
Maryland: 20/40/15
Massachusetts:20/40/5
Michigan: 20/40/10
Minnesota: 30/60/10
Mississippi: 25/50/25
Missouri: 25/50/10
Montana: Not required
Nebraska: 25/50/25
New Hampshire: 25/50/25
New Jersey: 15/30/5
New Mexico: 25/50/10
New York: 25/50/10
Nevada: 15/30/10
North Carolina: 30/60/25
North Dakota: 25/50/25
Ohio: 12.5/25/7.5
Oklahoma: 25/50/25
Oregon: 25/50/10
Pennsylvania: 15/30/5
Rhode Island: 25/50/25
South Carolina: 25/50/25
South Dakota: 25/50/25
Tennessee: 25/50/15
Texas: 25/50/25
Utah: 25/65/15 or $65,000 single limit
Vermont: 25/50/10
Virginia: 25/50/20
Washington: Not required
West Virginia: 20/40/10
Wyoming: 25/50/20
Washington DC: 25/50/10

Using Virginia's insurance requirements (25/50/20) as an example, here's how to read the numbers:

25―$25,000 for bodily injury per person
50―$50,000 for bodily injury per accident
20―$20,000 for property damage per accident

When reviewing your state's liability insurance requirements, be sure that you're looking at motorcycles and not cars. The figures, in some states, are not the same.

If you're a rider in Florida, Montana, or Washington, be sure to check with your DMV or state insurance department if other non-liability insurance requirements exist. In Florida, for example, if you elect not to purchase motorcycle insurance, the motorcycle must be paid for (no liens) and you must carry insurance on a vehicle registered in your name.

How Much Motorcycle Insurance to Carry

You should always carry more than the required minimum amounts. Don't skimp. Buy as much coverage as you can afford. Until you're in an accident, you never realize how expensive medical care can be until the first bill is due.

Options for additional motorcycle insurance include:

Higher liability insurance limits
Collision
Comprehensive
Uninsured/Underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage
Medical Payments (MedPay)

If you're on a tight budget, be sure to inquire about motorbike insurance discounts. All insurance providers offer discounts for multiple bikes, clean driving records and more.

Copyright 2012 Cyclfinder.    Privacy Policy    Disclaimer